Arrival at the build site and past week update

So, Whisky and I rolled into Austin last night and today we’re officially getting started on the build. Can’t believe we’re finally here (time to start) and definitely glad to be back here (Texas)!

Yes, this is a pic from the front row of a Willie Nelson concert. Turns out growing up in the UK has several benefits, chief among them that no one knows who Willie is so you can get awesome seats when he plays there!
Yes, this is a pic from the front row of a Willie Nelson concert. Turns out growing up in the UK has several benefits, chief among them that no one knows who Willie is so you can get awesome seats when he plays there!


It’s 5am as I write this, about an hour before twilight gets here and Whisky and I head out on our first local morning run. There’ll be more updates once we really dig into the build, but first here’s what we’ve been doing for the past week – downsizing all my stuff ready to go tiny. The original plan was to get this all done over the three day weekend but, true to our family tradition, I was only about 3/4 done by the end of that and squeezed the remaining 1/4 around my already busy last week of clinical training to finish with about 1 minute to spare before my ride to the airport. At any rate, I’m now down to about 1/3 the belongings I had two weeks ago which is a great feeling!

All the clothes before. Plus Whisky finding the most in-the-way spot he can manage...
All the clothes before. Plus Whisky finding the most in-the-way spot he can manage…
And after. Goodwill on the left, keep on the right. Down to 15 outfits total including work, casual, sports, fancy, etc.
And after. Goodwill on the left, keep on the right. Down to 15 outfits total including work, casual, sports, fancy, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For clothes, inspired by the TED talk The 10 Item Wardrobe, I made it to 15…

I'm not a shoe girl, but darn do these things multiply!
I’m not a shoe girl, but darn do these things multiply!
Still too many?
Still too many?
I'm rich!
I’m rich!
How many surgical tools does a girl need? Turns out 5 is plenty.
How many surgical tools does a girl need? Turns out 5 is plenty.
Allowed myself one box, they fit!
Allowed myself one box, they fit!

For books, relied on the Konmari method (or a simplified version). Hold it 10 seconds. Does it bring me joy? Yes, keep. No, chuck. Thankfully this gut feeling measure also fit with my size limit of getting to one box or less.

Maybe right over the dining table? How's your appetite?
Maybe right over the dining table? How’s your appetite?

Measuring all the art I’m keeping so I can incorporate it into my build. This is one of the downsides of building in a different state from where I’m storing all my stuff…

Success!
Success!

And the final product. The bulky shelves are just for storage, all that’s coming with me are the boxes. All done! *Sigh of relief*

Leave a comment

